Tags

, ,

Was 2015 a good one for you? What are your hopes and dreams for the year to come? I saw an interesting quote by the author Melissa Harrison today it said:

What you do with the days is what you do with the years. What you do with the years is what you do with your life.

I thought it sums up attitudes to life quite well. Now every day cannot be an adventurous holiday or a day spent tiptoeing through the daisies with your beloved. Sometimes there’s drudge or heartache to be got through; and we often need to remember the value of delayed gratification. But it seems to me to be a good philosophy and a thing to keep in mind. The cliché goes: you only live once. And whilst this seems to have been highjacked by a number of people to peddle all sorts of crap, it is true. You do.

Are you the kind of person that makes New Year resolutions? I do tend to. This year I have the come up with the following:

I will swim 100Km. Before you get too excited, I don’t mean in one go. I mean I will swim 100Km in the year. That means getting at least 2 swims in a week, or if not, getting extra ones in to make up for any missed.

I will practice my scales. I never practice my scales. I have to perform them at the start of every lesson as a warm-up and I must do better at playing them at home.

I will do more sight-reading. I have fished out an old book of hits from the 60’s. It includes loads of Beatles tracks and is pitched at the right level for me to sight-read. Not perfectly, but good enough to recognize the tune. I must practice my sight-reading if I am to improve generally, and this book is helping me at the moment.

I will memorize at least 10 pieces by the end of the year. I hate not being able to just play much if I am presented with a piano and no familiar music.

I will take try to take better photographs. I am still slowly working my way through the shots from 2015. I am up to May at the moment.

I was thinking about what my best image was from 2015. And I am really happy with quite a few, but the below is my favourite.

Icelandic Poppy

Icelandic Poppy

I love the simplicity of it. What do you think? If you are interested I could do a little behind the scenes of this shot in another post. Do let me know.

I hope you have a very Happy New Year.

Do let me know your plans.

xxx

