Tags

,

It’s Christmas Eve. The house is looking great. And more importantly is beginning to smell great. This year I am on-call. I have to work right through to Monday the 28th. I should only need to work tomorrow if I get called and have managed to work from home most of the week. The early part got a bit stressful, but today has quietened down (I hope I haven’t jinxed it).

Because I worked from home today I got to smell all the lovely delightful food my wife was making: Red cabbage (this is for tomorrow, but we all know that it is better warmed the next day), Mince pies, Spiced biscuits, and a lovely Butter-bean and Feta stew.

New baubles

New baubles

I am just about to go down to make a Kedgeree. Then we will do some Mulled Perry and play a game of Scrabble whilst watching the Christmas telly.

Tomorrow we will open presents first thing, have smoked salmon for lunch and have slow-cooked beef brisket with all the trimmings for the main meal. All very traditional here – minus the turkey, which would be ridiculous for two people.

Next week I will not be working so we will see my lovely family for New Year and catch up with friends.

I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas, and look forward to chatting with you all and reading your blogs next year.

 

Lots of Christmassy love.

