Tags

, ,

Regular readers will know that I’ve always been interested in photography. I tend to take pictures of either flowers/plants or wildlife. I’d love to take more landscapes, but many of the greatest landscape photographs tend to be taken at first light. I think if I really want to take decent landscape shots then I need to learn to start going to bed earlier, because I am not great at early starts.

Last year photography took on a bit of a purpose for me. My wife – Wellywoman – was writing her second book (the follow-up to her beautiful award-winning debut The Cut Flower Patch). This new book which was released on the 3rd September is called The Crafted Garden.

Crafted garden cover 26jan.indd

It shows how you can be inspired by nature to create beautiful decorations and craft projects, helping to bring the outside in. Like the first book the main photographer for the book is the talented Jason Ingram, however about 60 of the images in the Crafted Garden are mine. The big projects were shot by Jason and between the two of them they have created some stunning shots, however my wife was keen that proper horticultural knowledge should underpin everything in the book. So as well as the project images there were a number of plants, flowers and other illustrative photos required. It is these images that I took. Below are a few images that made it into the book:

Spring meadow

Spring meadow

Bluebell wood

Bluebell wood

Scabious Ping Pong

Scabious Ping Pong

Freesia

Freesia

I’m really pleased that I’ve got some published photos in a proper publication, but more than that I am really proud of my wife who has produced another stunning book.

I assume that anyone reading this likes beautiful things, and certainly know others similarly inclined. If you do (and let’s face it who doesn’t?) and you are starting to think about Christmas presents then you can’t go wrong if you bought or requested this beautiful book.

If you do, then take a look at the photo credits at the back to see which ones are mine, and please do get in touch with me and let me know if you like them.

P.S take a look at her post here where you can get a code to buy the book at a discount.

