Tags

, , ,

I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but my company decided to move offices. I’m not a fan of a long commute. Years ago I used to commute from Guildford to Heathrow every day. It took 18 minutes if I made the journey in the middle of the night (which I did occasionally), but my normal rush hour commute could take anything from 50 minutes to 1 1/2 hours. After Guildford for the next two moves (also work related) we moved to 5 minutes away from the new offices, which meant that I could go home for my lunch. My current commute is 14 minutes. The new office is about 20 miles further on, and is across the Severn bridge into Bristol, so it will take quite a bit longer, which is not ideal. The mitigation is that I only have to do it 3 days a week, the other 2 days I can work from home. The move has been quite a distraction at work, with a lot of time spent preparing and moving and not much spent doing the actual day job. Which can be quite frustrating because I was busy enough beforehand. Anyway, we are nearly there now and start work at the new place on the 2nd September.

I tend to have my piano lessons during my lunch break so I will still be able to do these on my working from home days, which is good. When we first heard about the office move we looked at moving closer. But won’t be doing so this year. If/when we do move house in the future one of the things that I won’t look forward to is having to find a new piano teacher. I’ve grown quite attached to my current one. I like how she allows me to play any tune I like, but also pushes me to learn pieces that will teach me new skills.

We are going to see how the new commuting pans out before making any decisions. So I’ll keep you posted.

Musically I am currently working on a Grade 6 piece called Le Pastour by the French pianist and composer Gabriel Grovlez (as suggested by my teacher). I will definitely record a video of my playing it once I perfect it, but for now here is an old video of Phillip Sear playing it.

I can’t say I’ve heard anything like it before. How about you? Have you heard of Grovlez? What do you think of the piece? Does it remind you of anything else?

