Tags

, , , ,

It’s been three weeks since I last posted. As usual I’ve been really busy. We went up north for Easter to see the family, which was fun. We got to go on some lovely walks where we saw plenty of wildlife including dippers on the river at Hardcastle Crags just outside Hebden Bridge; black grouse at Dovestone reservoir north-east of Manchester, and curlew and short-eared owls on the hills above Hebden.

Returning back home I’ve had my nose stuck into my final degree project. This one is related to weathering of rocks, so I have spent quite a bit of time in graveyards photographing headstones. I’m not at all squeamish about graveyards in fact I quite like them and will often have a wander round looking at old stones. There hasn’t been much time left for much else to be honest. Although last weekend we sent down to a nearby nature reserve called Magor Marshes which is run by Gwent Wildlife Trust. They killed off any mink in the area and re-introduced 200 water voles a few years ago and apparently they are thriving. Anyway armed with the camera we went to take a look and this is what we spotted:

Surveying the water

Surveying the water

Tasty morsels

Tasty morsels

Are you looking at me?

Are you looking at me?

Having a nibble

Having a nibble

The photos are all of the same vole. He/she was quite tame and let us get pretty close. I’ve very slightly tinkered with a couple of the photos because there was a rope going through right through some of the shots so I removed that in Photoshop. I think it is almost impossible to see where it was, but please do tell me if you can work it out.

The above shots were taken at 11:30 in the morning over a 10 minute period right outside the main car park.

We went out last night at dusk and had 4 more sightings of at least 3 different voles, so they really are prolific there. No pictures unfortunately because it was too dark. I hope you are all well and I’m sorry for not managing to post sooner. I hope the cute vole makes up for my tardiness.

