I have been really busy recently so haven’t had as much chance to write. I have also neglected quite a few of the new piano pieces I started, although I have been going over some of those I have already learnt to get them memorized. I will hopefully be playing in public again soon, so want to get more into my head.

Fortunately we had a bank holiday on Monday and I wasn’t working so I managed to do something I have wanted to do for some time. We got up at 04:00 and headed off to our local woods to listen to the dawn chorus. It was truly magical. A real treat The birds made a fantastic cacophony of all sorts of sounds. The other advantage of being in the woods when the sun rose was that the light was great for photographing at bluebells.

Early morning bluebells

Early morning bluebells

The woods near to us have a patch of bluebells that stretch for as far as you can see in every direction, and at the moment they are looking their best. The woods are also great for wild garlic, which we have been picking for a few weeks now, and are currently in full flower.

The Bluebells in our woods

The Bluebells in our woods

 

The above shots were taken on the new camera on a tripod. I took a tripod (mine is lightweight) so that I could use the camera on ISO100, but knew that that would mean a long exposure time. The first image was a 5 second exposure at f22, and the second was 2 seconds at f20. I wanted a small aperture (f22 and f20 means a very narrow aperture) so that I had as long a depth of field as possible. Obviously with such long exposures there’s always the chance that any breeze would blur the flowers, but in this case the air was very still and anyway I wanted to see them all on mass so a slight blurring of the flowers wouldn’t have been a disaster.

I hope you like them, and if you do know of any near you, make sure you get out and get some photos. You really don’t need to bother with a tripod and and a 4 o’clock start…..

 

