Tags

, , , ,

This post was meant to be the one where I posted up the fantastic video of me playing Schumann’s Traumerei. After practicing the piece for the last few weeks I had managed to memorize it. I therefore assumed that I was 90% there with it. However after a piano lesson it became clear that I was only halfway there, so much about it is the mood and sound, not just the notes. My piano teacher tells me it used to be a grade 7 ABSRM piece which surprised me.

Earlier this week I did some youtubing (this is now a verb right?) and noticed that the arrangement that I have is very slightly different to the original in a few places. So now I have to re-learn a couple of sections. In my version the left hand of bar 3 contains a roll of F, B-flat and D.

Third bar of Traumerei in the arrangement I have.

Third bar of Traumerei in the arrangement I have.

Whereas in the original it has the B-flat an octave lower and as a grace note with the F followed by the D.

Original Traumerei bar 3

Original Traumerei bar 3

 

Later on there are a few other changes, such as two bars from the end contains a big stretch of G,B,B, in the original. My piano teacher recommended to me to play the lower G and B first then jump up to the higher B, but an octave plus 2 is no issue for me so I can play it all together.

So unfortunately it will take a bit longer to learn the correct notes. After all if this is to be the classical piece that I can take everywhere with me I want it to be perfect. I promise the video will come soon, and hopefully the accompanying post will be a bit more interesting than this one!

 

