Tags

, , , , , , ,

So I’ve been counting the hours recently. When I started learning Nuvole Bianche I decided to keep a record of exactly how much time I spend practicing. So far I have spent 3 hours on it. The score is eight pages long although the second half is very similar to the first, so I have just been working on the first 5 pages. It’s at the stage that it is starting to sound OK, but there are still loads of mistakes and I haven’t begun to memorize it yet. I had a lesson on thursday (my first for 4 weeks) and was picked up on the fact that I was taking vast liberties with the timing in certain sections. I’ve hopefully been put on the straight and narrow.

Other counting of hours relates to non-piano activities. I’m currently studying for a degree and am at the point of this module where I need to start revising for the exam Therefore I’ve been trying to work out, how many chapters I need to revise (42) and how many days I have left before the exam (46), and how many hours it will take me to do a chapter (about 2). Along with work, family life and trying to play some piano, it seems that there are not enough hours in the day. I guess I’ll have to cut the piano hours down a bit.

This is a shame because a) I love it and b) I’d like to get to the magical 10,000 hours. This is the figure that is recognized as that which you have to spend to become an expert at something. That means that if you only spend an hour a day, every day, it will take over 27 years. Which for me means i’ll be 63. I’m not getting anywhere near an hour a day at the moment. So will have to make up for this when the degree is finished.

To give you guys something to look at, I’ve linked to a video of Philip Glass’s soundtrack to the 2002 film ‘The Hours’. I haven’t actually seen the film. As for Philip Glass, I have a strange relationship with his music. I like it but I don’t love it. I can’t quite put my finger on why not…

