Tags

, , , , , ,

Years ago Dennis Pennis asked Steve Martin ‘How come you’re not funny anymore?’ A cruel thing to say, but I guess it hit a nerve with Martin as most of his greatest films were back in the 80s. At his peak he was in some truly great films. I defy anyone to come up with a film funnier than Trains, Planes and Automobiles. I was also a fan of Roxanne, his re-interpretation of the Cyrano de Bergerac story. It has some good one-liners in it.*

A fairly under-rated film he wrote and starred in was L.A. Story. In it he played a weatherman who is ‘spoken to’ by a freeway sign. Stay with me it makes sense in the story…. He falls in love with Sarah, but as someone** once nearly said “The path of true of true love doesn’t run smoothly”. Featuring Richard E Grant and a young Sarah Jessica Parker, it features a great cameo by Patrick Stewart who plays a particularly snooty restaurateur.

The film’s soundtrack featured the tracks from Enya – see my earlier post. At one point in the film the love of Martin’s life threatens to leave LA, he implores her not to, saying that if he could do he would whip up a storm to prevent her leaving. Cue a shot of her entering the plane whilst Martin sits mournfully at home staring out of the window. The aircraft rolls back from the stand whilst Enya’s track Exile plays; needless to say the weather deteriorates rapidly. I won’t spoil the ending for those who haven’t seen it yet (you’ve had 22 years, so don’t blame me!), but hey it’s a Hollywood film, how do you think it ends?

Exile is my second favourite song from Enya’s album Watermark. It is one that I learnt to play on the piano years ago. I promised a few posts ago that I would upload a few more videos of me playing piano, so here you are:

I dusted out the sheet music and ran through it once, the day before I filmed this; but then filmed it in one take and have posted up the resulting video, complete with a few little mistakes. On the whole I’m happy with it, and I hope you like it. If you do, and want the sheet music; the book’s ISBN number is 978-0711917712 therefore you can buy it from any good book/music shop. Or if you are less bothered than me about their unwillingness to pay tax, you can order it from the Amazon here.

On a musical theme, I see that Steve Martin has spent much of this century playing bluegrass music and is awarding a $50,000 prize to talented banjo players. So fair play to him!

* I was one of those geeky teenagers that threw film quotes into normal speech all the time.

** Yes I know it was Shakespeare who didn’t say that.

