Tags

, , , , , ,

As you might have noticed if you saw my last post, I have a bit of a soft spot for love songs. I always have done. The first track I fell for was I want to know what love is by Foreigner. I know it’s cheesy, but I love it. I remember that as a thirteen year old I got the double album The Best of the Greatest Love.
Not the usual album for someone just hitting their teens. It had some absolute classics on it such as Me and Mrs Jones by Billy Paul and Don Mclean’s Vincent. I got given the tapes with my first Sony Walkman and remember playing them to death throughout my teen years.  I even made my own tape of some of my favourites;  Such as I Just Died in your Arms Tonight by Cutting Crew, Missing You by John Waite and Whitesnake’s Is this Love?. One of my friends referred to this tape as my ‘Erection Selection’.

An all time classic of the genre as far as I’m concerned is Stay with me till Dawn by Judie Tzuke. It was her second single, and I’m surprised to read that it only reached 16 in the UK charts when it was released in 1979. It has since been voted as in the top 50 UK songs, but it is probably in my top 10 list. I could listen to it all day. It’s not possible to write a list of criteria for the perfect love song, but if one did exist this would surely tick all the boxes. I heard her being interviewed a year ago with her daughter who is also a singer. They were touring together at the time. I didn’t get to see her, but I’m pleased to see she is still in the business. Below is a recording of her singing the original back in 1979.

Another love song that I have rediscovered is the tune I can’t make you love me by Bonnie Raitt. Recently covered by Adele on her 19 album, it has been covered by loads of people from George Michael to Kenny Rogers.

I have downloaded the sheet music for it so would like to give it a go.

I can't make you love me

I can’t make you love me

I will post about my progress in a while, but for now enjoy the heartbreaking version by Bonnie Raitt. You should also look up the Adele live version.

