Tags

, , , , ,

Apparently his song was used in a recent John Lewis Christmas advert, so I’m guessing it then went on to do well in the charts.

Whenever I hear this song I think of the Birmingham Botanic Gardens. The first time I heard it, it was playing on the radio as we arrived there over the Christmas period, and now the two are forever linked in my mind. Most tunes are linked in my head to a particular place. Wouldn’t it be good by Nik Kershaw is linked to Malham Cove, and Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol is lniked with the road between Newquay and Padstow.

I have always loved the original Frankie Goes to Hollywood track, and although I don’t normally prefer cover versions to original recordings, this stripped down version is better in my opinion.

So see below to see what Gabrielle Aplin can do with a piano and her voice.

