Tags

, , , ,

I was a teenager in the 1990s so inevitably heard a fair amount of ‘Dance’ music. Some of which I really liked, some of it I thought of as terrible.  I preferred club music; such as that played at Cream or the early days of Ministry of Sound, not the pop-dance music that had women dancing around their handbags.  The serious dance clubs attracted a certain type of crowd who preferred to drink water rather than booze. In 1996 I went to the Hacienda nightclub in Manchester, for the first (and only time).  I queued 10 minutes to for the toilets, only to get to the front of the queue to find that the urinals were unused and that I had inadvertently been stood in the queue for drugs. That not being my thing I left them to it. I never felt the need to pop pills when out dancing. I think I would have been too scared of the short and long term consequences, and anyway I found that I could almost go into a trance-like state when dancing to anyway. Most of this type of club music didn’t make it to the charts, but every so often there would be a breakthrough piece.

One of those that did hit the charts in 90s was the tune Children by the Italian DJ and record producer Robert Miles. It reached number 2 in the UK charts, and held the number 1 slot in the European charts for 13 weeks. The track is a trance track, played on a keyboard with quite a bit of reverb on it; but at it’s heart, it is a piano piece. I was not surprised to read that he has played piano since childhood. He is clearly a very accomplished musician. There are many people who do not like club music, which is fair enough, to quote the cliché: the world would be a dull place if we all liked the same. One of the arguments against this genre is that; it isn’t proper music, it is just computerized noise, that anyone can do it and you do not need to be a talented musician. But one viewing of the tune being played, should dispel this argument in relation to Robert Mile’s music.

I thought that it would be a great tune to learn how to play, so a few months ago I downloaded the sheet music for it. However once I got it I realized that it will be quite a while before I can tackle it with much confidence. It being way too fast for my current abilities, and not really the sort of track that sounds good slowed down. So for now I will have to admire the work of those that can play it. I do urge you to click on the link below, even if you are not a fan of dance music. I think that this tune, and especially the solo piano version, transcends genres. The piece being played is actually an arrangement that starts with Children then seamlessly flows into another of Mile’s hit tracks Fable, before returning back to Children again. One day I’ll be able to play this, one day….

